Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
Previous Item   May 28, 1975  Next Item SOUND  VISION WORD
    Olympia    Paris, France

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsthat's what you get for trying to stop French people from smoking   January 4, 2011
Written by emperornobody

Hearing this now I realize none of us can really claim to have heard it before on the muddy bootlegs of days gone by... Mr. Stormy sure has put Humpty Dumpty back together again with this little mash-up.  This must have taken months of work to reconstitute and Alex if you’re reading this thank you so much, I think I can die happy now.

The only quibbles I have are the disc break going into arguably the coolest transition of the whole set (I reassembled it to be seamless in Sound Forge 7, easy freezy to do) and the removal of the PA announcer coming on mid-set to inform the assembled that they need to put out their funny l’il Jazz Herbal cigarettes or be taken away to jail, or whatever he says LOL

But these are minor and insignificant quibbles... the inclusion of the raw loops as bonus material means I’d give this 6 stars if I could.  Really and truly, the playing is on fire throughout this set and you can really hear a lot of what RF must have been feeling at the time pouring through the humbuckers and into the Olympia... and did I just hear Eno playing a tape of little children in the background? Wow, that sure was inaudible on the past shoddy boot versions.

The only other criticism I can spuriously invent is that the Berlin Horse film was somehow left out of the download, for that vérité experience, you know?  Seriously folks, if you don’t download this all your friends might stop returning your phone calls, all your pens might run out of ink at once, your socks will cease to match, and -- most certainly of all -- your life will never stand any chance of being complete.


More Articles

Your search found 29 items (Viewing 1 to 10 of 29)


Fan Review
Thank you!   Tue., Jul 1, 2014
Posted by: NoiseMachine
This remains the best purchase under $20 I have ever made on the internet. Read more

Fan Review
A Radical Representative of Pinsnip   Sun., Feb 9, 2014
Posted by: microbunny
At a Secret Fripp and Eno Live In Paris? Read more

Fan Review
When?   Wed., Jan 15, 2014
Posted by: msmusich
PLEASE....I do not want a download....I want the CD! Please when can I buy this CD? The Old Fan Read more

Fan Review
   Paris, France   May 28, 1975
Posted by: SeanStephensen
Looking forward to the CD release! Any idea what part of 2013 we can expect it in? Read more

Fan Review
   Paris, France   May 28, 1975
Posted by: Siward
Sid - I’ve just downloaded this and agree with everyone else that it is miraculous! Many thanks indeed. I just wanted to ask, though, has the cd release been put back or Read more

Fan Review
CD Version   Fri., Feb 24, 2012
Posted by: carnosouls
Sirs, I was wondering when/if the CD version of this would be coming out.  I’m really looking forward to it. Thanks for everything, Mike Bennett / Zimiamvian NightHi Mike, sadly there's no release date set for the Read more

Fan Review
A Dream Come True   Fri., Jul 22, 2011
Posted by: Squonkamatic
Thank you so much for making this selection available. It has been a dream come true to hear, re-hear and get to know the spellbinding music presented in this compilation. You have never heard anything like this Read more

Fan Review
It drones on and on and on...   Wed., Feb 9, 2011
Posted by: gregjames
… Wonderfully... Remarkably... Crimheads often delve in counterfactual history and muse about such topics as “What if the ’69 band stayed together and did another album?” or “What if Ian Mac rejoined the band after Red and Crim Read more

Fan Review
Towering Tape-delay Extacy   Tue., Feb 1, 2011
Posted by: Blackwater
I have been a great fan of both Fripp and Eno for over thirty years becoming hooked when I aquired a second hand copy of ’No Pussyfooting’ from a friend who thought it was Read more

Fan Review
An Index of Anagrams   Thu., Jan 20, 2011
Posted by: keeves
Soft Gun Poison is of course No Pussyfooting. Here is a sanitised version of a bootleg I was unaware of and the fairy dust must be a good batch because this might have been recorded last Read more

2 3 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
NO CAMERAS PLEASE
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
No Cameras Please

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Travis & Fripp -Live at Coventry Cathedral
Travis & Fripp -Live at Coventry Cathedral

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds