Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starssetting drum levels can equal music!   February 21, 2011
Written by syncopatico

Ah, the glory days of late-1960ís/early-1970ís English prog-rock drumming (and drumming in general)! Back from a time when young adventurous drummers were influenced by jazz and possessed some swing and finesse to their playing. Unlike more recent years when young drummers are more influenced by sheer technique (hand/foot speed to the detriment of an overall musicality) and rigid time-keeping (the results of the prevalence of the click-track, unwavering 4/4 dance music and Pro Tools uniformity). Here you can hear Michael Gilesí excellent drumming skills (impressive double bass drum work!?) but at the same time his deft ride cymbal sticking and crisp snare accenting maintains a flowing feel--something which so many of todayís heavy-handed, pounding drummers noticeably lack!

More Articles

Your search found 2468 items (Viewing 111 to 120 of 2468)

Fan Review
fantastic   Fri., Jan 22, 2016
Posted by: heavenly
i always liked "lizard", and this is just another show piece why this is the case, i am also amazed again and again that crimson (fripp that is)  managed throughout their career to Read more

Fan Review
Guitar mix Trey   Sun., Jan 17, 2016
Posted by: fhc339835
Great gig, I like this the most of the row of the Japan gigs in 95 available so far. My special attention went with the guitar mix, especially Trey is very well listenable Read more

Fan Review
Prince Rupert Awakes   Sat., Jan 16, 2016
Posted by: davidkronemyer
This is a gorgeous solo piano recording played by Keith Tippett. Through some kind of electronic wizardry process it has been isolated from the other instruments on the track, so that Read more

Fan Review
Beautiful   Thu., Jan 14, 2016
Posted by: NotoriousA
Read more

Fan Review
Exquisite   Mon., Jan 11, 2016
Posted by: myshadow
Read more

Fan Review
memorable show   Sat., Jan 9, 2016
Posted by: slipkid
I was 16 yrs old and my older bro took me to this show.cold ass november night but hot inside.The eastowne theatre was a dump. my bro was instrumental in introducing me to King Crimson,I was familiar with the debut Read more

Fan Review
Brilliant   Sat., Jan 2, 2016
Posted by: fhc339835
Outstanding gig and recording. The mix and sound quality is clearer and more poweful compared with the preceding EU 95 bundle. BBoom THRAK appear to be the most inspired and playful so far for 94 and 95 up Read more

Fan Review
VROOOM   Fri., Jan 1, 2016
Posted by: GratefulJerry
Iíve had the bundle from the Level Five tour for a while now and this has become one of my favorite shows from the tour. An incredibly strong show!!! Read more

Fan Review
Xenochrony!   Sat., Dec 19, 2015
Posted by: ilamfan
Actually 4 1/2 stars (or 4 3/4!) - my only wish is that this cool piece was LONGER!  Thx to a Mr Frank Zappa who coined the term "xenochrony" for this process of joining previously unrelated pieces, creating Read more

Fan Review
Yummy   Tue., Dec 15, 2015
Posted by: nuttidave
Thank you for this tasty Christmas time treat :) Read more

<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson Tour 2016
Newest Additions

King Crimson
10 June 2016 Heartbeat

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

Latest Music
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015

Latest Photo

New to the DGM Shop
Red - 40th Anniversary Series
Red - 40th Anniversary Series

Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Nov. 20th, 2015 in Toronto

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Follow Us

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds