Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starssetting drum levels can equal music!   February 21, 2011
Written by syncopatico

Ah, the glory days of late-1960ís/early-1970ís English prog-rock drumming (and drumming in general)! Back from a time when young adventurous drummers were influenced by jazz and possessed some swing and finesse to their playing. Unlike more recent years when young drummers are more influenced by sheer technique (hand/foot speed to the detriment of an overall musicality) and rigid time-keeping (the results of the prevalence of the click-track, unwavering 4/4 dance music and Pro Tools uniformity). Here you can hear Michael Gilesí excellent drumming skills (impressive double bass drum work!?) but at the same time his deft ride cymbal sticking and crisp snare accenting maintains a flowing feel--something which so many of todayís heavy-handed, pounding drummers noticeably lack!


More Articles

Your search found 2414 items (Viewing 111 to 120 of 2414)


Fan Review
Does humor belong to music?   Mon., Jun 22, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Frank Zappa asked once, and it used to happen that humor in music and the music of King Crimson - Robert Fripp do not encounter Read more

Fan Review
?when?   Sun., Jun 21, 2015
Posted by: robowen
Is this show ever going to be availible? I hope soon. Read more

Fan Review
April 13, 2003   Sun., Jun 21, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
Iím very happy that we get another show from í03 and this oneís a scorcher. I have all the shows that are currently available from this year and this one rates high on the list in terms of Read more

Fan Review
A fine representation   Wed., Jun 10, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Frequently people ask how and who Fripp is. As a human being, and so on... Just having arrived at Stony Brook during my adventurours chronological listening, I give this release a special note: This presentation of the 83 Frippertroniclectour Read more

Fan Review
Always amazing discoveries...   Sat., Jun 6, 2015
Posted by: pacealot
Once again, thank you Mr Stormy for this dis(un)covery.  One slight quibble in the description, however; this is a very different drum performance from my biggest drum hero ever Michael Read more

Fan Review
The Feline Flexibility of Giles, Giles and Fripp   Tue., Jun 2, 2015
Posted by: syncopatico
This backing track (sans the later overdubs) reveals the rhythmic creativity of Mike Giles as foundational for this song. The Giles-Giles rhythm section--as underrated a tandem as Haskell-McCulloch on Lizard--perhaps "underrated" is an improper term, but Read more

Fan Review
i love it   Tue., Jun 2, 2015
Posted by: whutchins254
This is worth it just to hear Mr. Fripp indeed let out an exasperated noise when a moment goes afoul. Aside from that, one of the better glimpses into the construction of an old Read more

Fan Review
A piece of my (misspent!) youth   Sat., May 30, 2015
Posted by: craigiestar
Fantastic to be able to own this show after all these years! The Russell Club was one of my old stamping grounds and I often recorded bands who played Read more

Fan Review
The best of Japan   Sat., May 23, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Sometimes it takes years until the best things are dicsovered. This is the case for the Japan í81 bundle. Wow, indeed, this bootleg is outstanding. Great rendition, great response of the Read more

Fan Review
Astonishing   Mon., May 18, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Thinking about and listening through what is currently (spring 2015) available from the beat-generation, the Dijon performance is remarkably astonishing. Anything said yet by Sid and the fellow commenters, Iíd Read more

<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson Tour 2016
Newest Additions
HEAVY SKIRMISH
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
18 April 2016

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Ladies Of The Road
Ladies Of The Road

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Nov. 20th, 2015 in Toronto

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds