Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starssetting drum levels can equal music!   February 21, 2011
Written by syncopatico

Ah, the glory days of late-1960’s/early-1970’s English prog-rock drumming (and drumming in general)! Back from a time when young adventurous drummers were influenced by jazz and possessed some swing and finesse to their playing. Unlike more recent years when young drummers are more influenced by sheer technique (hand/foot speed to the detriment of an overall musicality) and rigid time-keeping (the results of the prevalence of the click-track, unwavering 4/4 dance music and Pro Tools uniformity). Here you can hear Michael Giles’ excellent drumming skills (impressive double bass drum work!?) but at the same time his deft ride cymbal sticking and crisp snare accenting maintains a flowing feel--something which so many of today’s heavy-handed, pounding drummers noticeably lack!


More Articles

Your search found 2181 items (Viewing 111 to 120 of 2181)


Fan Review
Magic happens   Mon., Feb 24, 2014
Posted by: ringo2001
Muir and Cross delivers some magic. Images of some lamas’rituals in Tibet come to mind... Read more

Fan Review
I Was There!!   Sat., Feb 22, 2014
Posted by: LouieB
What a pleasure it is to actually own a King Crimson gig for which I was in attendance. Listening to this 10 years after it was performed brings back some great Read more

Fan Review
Some notes for the listener [revised]   Wed., Feb 12, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
I was in attendance at six 1984 shows: The two NYC Pier shows [6/26 & 27], this Philadelphia show [6/29], the Columbia MD show [6/30], the PHENOMENAL Hartford show [Independence Day 7/4, but actually started just past midnight on 7/5], Read more

Fan Review
Some notes for the listener   Tue., Feb 11, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
I was in attendance at six 1984 shows: The two NYC Pier shows [6/26 & 27], this Philadelphia show [6/29], the Columbia MD show [6/30], the PHENOMENAL Hartford show [Independence Day 6/4, but actually started just past midnight on 6/5], Read more

Fan Review
Surprise 'Supper Club' shows -and Fripp's FraKCtured stunt!    Sun., Feb 9, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
Like all good NYC Crimso fan-addicts, weeks preceding I had ticket in hand for the Town Hall show the next night [14th]. But then the word got out via the fan base - KC would play two essentially unadvertised Read more

Fan Review
A Radical Representative of Pinsnip   Sun., Feb 9, 2014
Posted by: microbunny
At a Secret Fripp and Eno Live In Paris? Read more

Fan Review
Correction to description   Sun., Feb 9, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
The above should read: tracks 1, 2, 4-7 were from Club 4. The dowload edition now adds Red from this night, as well as a slightly incomplete Discipline. Read more

Fan Review
Possibly the best Sheltering Sky!   Sat., Feb 8, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
I’d seen this ’81-’84 lineup in person 29 times, which included 27 performances of Sheltering Sky (the ’84 shows were very long, presenting almost all of three albums, and the two indoor ones of the six I saw that year Read more

Fan Review
5 Stars doesn't begin to describe this...   Sat., Feb 8, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
My witnessing of RF (and KC) in performance began with KC in Central Park the previous year, 1973 (a little of which you can watch on the DVD included with the 40th Anniversary edition of Starless And Bible Black Read more

Fan Review
A memory of this even better 2nd Pier night..   Fri., Feb 7, 2014
Posted by: mannylunch
I had been given a tape of this show that I had attended. I won’t dig up mummies [tape] but I will go to to the museum to see the exhibit [collect Read more

<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson US Tour 2014
Newest Additions
NO CAMERAS PLEASE
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
No Cameras Please

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Discipline (Black)
Discipline (Black)

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds