Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starssetting drum levels can equal music!   February 21, 2011
Written by syncopatico

Ah, the glory days of late-1960ís/early-1970ís English prog-rock drumming (and drumming in general)! Back from a time when young adventurous drummers were influenced by jazz and possessed some swing and finesse to their playing. Unlike more recent years when young drummers are more influenced by sheer technique (hand/foot speed to the detriment of an overall musicality) and rigid time-keeping (the results of the prevalence of the click-track, unwavering 4/4 dance music and Pro Tools uniformity). Here you can hear Michael Gilesí excellent drumming skills (impressive double bass drum work!?) but at the same time his deft ride cymbal sticking and crisp snare accenting maintains a flowing feel--something which so many of todayís heavy-handed, pounding drummers noticeably lack!


More Articles

Your search found 2420 items (Viewing 111 to 120 of 2420)


Fan Review
Best   Thu., Jun 25, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Best KC gig from the 69-74 period available so far. Back in the 80íes my local bootleg dealer in Frankfurt told me about it, including the best KC song on it Read more

Fan Review
4 1/2 Stars   Wed., Jun 24, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
This show doesnít quite hit all the highs of the previous two shows but itís still very good. Granted, itís a little muddier but itís still an easy listen. I bought the bundle a while back and there really isnít Read more

Fan Review
A very strong show!   Wed., Jun 24, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
This is a fine performance and the sound quality is pretty good for an audience tape as well. Read more

Fan Review
Revelation   Tue., Jun 23, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Alex "Stormy" Mundyís finds, de-mixes and all sorts are always an exciting element of getting more and more acquainted to the oevre of the mighty Crimson Read more

Fan Review
Forward thinking   Tue., Jun 23, 2015
Posted by: eclecticguy
I like these behind-the-scenes vignettes which give insight into the practical process of Crimsonizing. By most musicianís ideas and certainly by most bandsí, this is pure insanity. Delightful. Read more

Fan Review
Really?   Mon., Jun 22, 2015
Posted by: Chris_DeVito
You guys sure this isnít from the 1999 writing/rehearsal sessions, rather than í97? Seems odd they wouldíve abandoned something that clearly wasnít far from completion. Read more

Fan Review
Does humor belong to music?   Mon., Jun 22, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Frank Zappa asked once, and it used to happen that humor in music and the music of King Crimson - Robert Fripp do not encounter Read more

Fan Review
?when?   Sun., Jun 21, 2015
Posted by: robowen
Is this show ever going to be availible? I hope soon. Read more

Fan Review
April 13, 2003   Sun., Jun 21, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
Iím very happy that we get another show from í03 and this oneís a scorcher. I have all the shows that are currently available from this year and this one rates high on the list in terms of Read more

Fan Review
A fine representation   Wed., Jun 10, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Frequently people ask how and who Fripp is. As a human being, and so on... Just having arrived at Stony Brook during my adventurours chronological listening, I give this release a special note: This presentation of the 83 Frippertroniclectour Read more

<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson Tour 2016
Newest Additions
NEUROTICA
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
18 March 1982

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Larks' Tongues in Aspic - Tote
Larks' Tongues in Aspic - Tote

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Nov. 20th, 2015 in Toronto

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds