Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starssetting drum levels can equal music!   February 21, 2011
Written by syncopatico

Ah, the glory days of late-1960’s/early-1970’s English prog-rock drumming (and drumming in general)! Back from a time when young adventurous drummers were influenced by jazz and possessed some swing and finesse to their playing. Unlike more recent years when young drummers are more influenced by sheer technique (hand/foot speed to the detriment of an overall musicality) and rigid time-keeping (the results of the prevalence of the click-track, unwavering 4/4 dance music and Pro Tools uniformity). Here you can hear Michael Giles’ excellent drumming skills (impressive double bass drum work!?) but at the same time his deft ride cymbal sticking and crisp snare accenting maintains a flowing feel--something which so many of today’s heavy-handed, pounding drummers noticeably lack!


More Articles

Your search found 2460 items (Viewing 111 to 120 of 2460)


Fan Review
Xenochrony!   Sat., Dec 19, 2015
Posted by: ilamfan
Actually 4 1/2 stars (or 4 3/4!) - my only wish is that this cool piece was LONGER!  Thx to a Mr Frank Zappa who coined the term "xenochrony" for this process of joining previously unrelated pieces, creating Read more

Fan Review
Yummy   Tue., Dec 15, 2015
Posted by: nuttidave
Thank you for this tasty Christmas time treat :) Read more

Fan Review
Great show   Thu., Dec 10, 2015
Posted by: RayMaybe
Was at this one. Didnt clap. Read more

Fan Review
Hot from the get go   Thu., Dec 10, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
This is truly a standout performance by P2 and it’s one of the only ones that seems to include Adrian’s solo numbers as well. The band hit the ground running with an incendiary Live Groove and never let Read more

Fan Review
Blown off   Tue., Dec 8, 2015
Posted by: fhc339835
Finally, I have arrived at Düsseldorf Philipshalle (now Mitsubishi Electric Halle ) again, about 20 and a half years after I experienced the gig Read more

Fan Review
Just about perfect to me   Sun., Nov 29, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
The second show in more than three months gets off to a flying start with Dangerous Curves. Level Five and ProzaKc Blues may have a shaky moment or two but there’s a driving energy throughout the entire show that makes Read more

Fan Review
Just about perfect to me   Sun., Nov 29, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
The second show in more than three months gets off to a flying start with Dangerous Curves. Level Five and ProzaKc Blues may have a shaky moment or two but there’s a driving energy throughout the entire show that makes Read more

Fan Review
A really good show   Fri., Nov 27, 2015
Posted by: GratefulJerry
After devouring the contents of the new THRAK box, I had an overwhelming urge to revisit shows from the ’94 bundle. I didn’t really remember this one too much so I pulled it Read more

Fan Review
I was there !   Mon., Nov 23, 2015
Posted by: colincoates
Thank-you for this download, have enjoyed recalling this concert at Norwich Cathedral over the past W/end since downloading this, I can not add much more to what I wrote back in Read more

Fan Review
Soundscapes - Exeter Cathedral, Devon   Sat., Nov 21, 2015
Posted by: ashgray
I recall this gig for several special reasons - this was the first time I’d seen Robert Fripp since the League of Gentlemen tour, and I’d had to rush down to Exeter from just south of Bristol immediately after returning Read more

<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson Tour 2016
Newest Additions
HEARTBEAT
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
10 June 2016 Heartbeat

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015
King Crimson in Toronto 11/20/2015

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Magnets - Collectors' Series Vol 1
Magnets - Collectors' Series Vol 1

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Nov. 20th, 2015 in Toronto

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds