Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
     SOUND  VISION WORD
   

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starssetting drum levels can equal music!   February 21, 2011
Written by syncopatico

Ah, the glory days of late-1960ís/early-1970ís English prog-rock drumming (and drumming in general)! Back from a time when young adventurous drummers were influenced by jazz and possessed some swing and finesse to their playing. Unlike more recent years when young drummers are more influenced by sheer technique (hand/foot speed to the detriment of an overall musicality) and rigid time-keeping (the results of the prevalence of the click-track, unwavering 4/4 dance music and Pro Tools uniformity). Here you can hear Michael Gilesí excellent drumming skills (impressive double bass drum work!?) but at the same time his deft ride cymbal sticking and crisp snare accenting maintains a flowing feel--something which so many of todayís heavy-handed, pounding drummers noticeably lack!


More Articles

Your search found 2316 items (Viewing 111 to 120 of 2316)


Fan Review
lovely but 1/2 speed!   Wed., Jan 7, 2015
Posted by: theguitarfairy
somehow this recording has arrived to us half speed. as a long time EH16 user (got my first one in 84í) was first tipped off to speed by fact loops are occurring at 30 sec +/- intervals Read more

Fan Review
Presov   Sat., Jan 3, 2015
Posted by: DavidKo
I was 13 years old. And in 2014 I created band with Pat Mastelotto and we were together in Presov. You never know what future brings. Read more

Fan Review
Zeppelin?   Thu., Jan 1, 2015
Posted by: Aladdinsane
I donít see John Paul Jones listed here. He was part of the show! A little Zeppelin riff and the crowd went nuts. It was my youngest of four boys first live Read more

Fan Review
Smoking...   Sat., Dec 27, 2014
Posted by: thomasc1982
This was the first, and currently only, time I have been able to see KC in the flesh. As such itís not easy for me to compare and contrast with other shows and can only say that I really Read more

Fan Review
Sounds fine to me considering how it was recorded   Thu., Dec 25, 2014
Posted by: GratefulJerry
For a cassette board tape from early 1972, this sounds fine. Granted, Ianís bass drum could be turned down a notch while Robertís guitar could stand to be turned up by the same Read more

Fan Review
Sounds like an audience tape to me   Thu., Dec 25, 2014
Posted by: GratefulJerry
Itís a cool recording of a really good show but itís clearly an audience tape. The sound is really good for the era and is probably the best audience tape here from Read more

Fan Review
Another Great Show!!!   Wed., Dec 24, 2014
Posted by: GratefulJerry
This is a really hot show! The cuts are a bit unfortunate but everything here is great! Pictures feels more jazzy in spots than it sometimes does while we get another early Sailorís Tale with Robert Fripp and Mel Collins Read more

Fan Review
Saturday Afternoon   Tue., Dec 23, 2014
Posted by: GratefulJerry
I used to attend shows at Irvine Meadows a lot back in the 1980ís. In fact, the week before The Moody Blues had played there and were great as well. Both groups had comedians open for Read more

Fan Review
Surprisingly good   Tue., Dec 23, 2014
Posted by: GratefulJerry
I have to admit to being more hit and miss on the 2000 to 2003 era of King Crimson. Some of it I really like and some I just donít listen to all that Read more

Fan Review
Wow, just wow!   Tue., Dec 23, 2014
Posted by: GratefulJerry
Iím now wanting to kick my own backside for not just buying the whole tour bundle. I already had all the discs that have been released through the Collectorís Club and such so I figured Iíd just grab a download Read more

<< Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 Next >> 

King Crimson Tour 2015
Newest Additions
TONYS TURKISH D
FREE MP3 DOWNLOAD


King Crimson
2 September 2004

Full Recording

Subscribe to Podcast

 
Latest Music
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999
ProjeKct Three in Austin 03/25/1999

 
Latest Photo

 
New to the DGM Shop
Travis & Fripp -Live at Coventry Cathedral
Travis & Fripp -Live at Coventry Cathedral

 
Top Downloads
King Crimson - Aug. 7th, 2008 in Chicago

King Crimson - Jun. 28th, 1974 in Asbury Park

King Crimson - Oct. 23rd, 1973 in Glasgow

Fripp & Eno - May. 28th, 1975 in Paris

Fripp & Eno - Mar. 14th, 2006 in London

 
Follow Us
 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds